Ripping Milligan (A Lot of Little Loves), a poem

If I spoke in stars,
The night sky would
Blind your eyes
When I say
‘I love you’.

If I spoke in flames,
I’d keep your blushes snug,
When I say
‘I love you’.

If I spoke in wind,
I’d tear
Your hair
Apart
When I say
‘I love you’.

If I spoke in rain,
You’d drown with
Every drop
When I say
‘I love you’.

If I spoke in flowers,
I’d bloom through
All your winters
When I say
‘I love you’.

If I spoke in snow,
Every draping flake
Would freeze you
When I say
‘I love you’.

And if I spoke in a whisper,
You’d never hear
How much
I love you.

But I can only speak plain
And all I can say
Is ‘I love you’.

4 thoughts on “Ripping Milligan (A Lot of Little Loves), a poem

  1. Pingback: Another Month’s Worth of Poetry | Frambles

  2. Pingback: Valentine’s poems | Frambles

Leave a Reply

