(Almost) Perfecting a Pie.

As any keen follower of this blog already knows, (keen? Ha!) I love me a bit of baking. Truth be told, it is mostly cakes that I put my hands to, but recently I’ve added the brownie fudge pie to my repertoire. And even more recently, I’ve given it an actual pie crust on top.

    The regular brownie fudge pie, I think, has no top crust as a rule, most probably because the filling needs all the air it can get to cook properly (this is how my baking works, hunches and guesses).

I scream, you scream, we all scream for pie! Oh wait, that doesn't work...

I scream, you scream, we all scream for pie! Oh wait, that doesn’t work…

This picture shows my second attempt at crowning a pie with a top, and I must say, for an amateur like me, and for only a second attempt, it came out remarkably well.

    I regularly lace my filling with white chocolate chunks, but here I actually forgot to do so, so intent was I on getting the top crust as decent as possible. Obviously, that splintering crack on top is something that may need rectifying. During baking, I pierced the pie with a knife to see how it was going, only a little stab mind, but by the time it came out of the oven it had splintered something awful.

    And those lovely flutterings of icing sugar and chocolate chip shards on top? Oh, that was just to hide the burnt bits.

    But as they say, practice makes perfect. Bring on round three!

Leave a Reply

