How I Procrastinate (with Baking, and why I Love it)

So yeah, I bake.

Or at least, I try to bake. I like baking. I like cakes.

   None of the above mean I’m any good at it though, but baking has been a hobby of mine for nearly as long as I can remember. And what I do actually remember is being very little (probably about three years old) and making those instant-ready-cake-mix-bag-kit-type-things for kids, the ones where you can stick edible pics of your favourite TV characters such as Dennis the Menace of Thomas the Tank Engine.

   I always used to make these with my Mum, and soon progressed onto making actual cakes by watching my Mum do her magic. She’s a master at making a multitude of mouth-watering treats. Victoria sponges, gingerbread, and flapjacks are her speciality.

    My own specialities are included in this post; toffee and cinnamon cake with white chocolate chunks and a brownie fudge pie, also with choccy chunks.

Baking is always a near-fatal disaster with me.

Baking is always a near-fatal disaster with me.

    They’re as messy to say as they are to make, but their fun to make as well, which has always been a huge attraction for me as an amateur baker. I don’t know whether it may relate to my love of story/poetry writing as well, but I just love creating things. Lego was practically part of he furniture in my old room back home.

    I bake for many different reasons. The main reason being that it’s fun, tasty, and saves me having to go to the shops to buy a teeny tiny pack of six something’s that cost loads and only last half a day. I also bake to show gratitude to people, like today when I baked these two lovelies and gave a couple of slices to my housemate as a thank you for setting up our TV with Freeview.

Nom.

Nom.

    I also bake to help other, like in a previous post where I blogged about baking eight tins worth of cakes to attract new members to our Uni’s TV Group, of which I’m a member. With over 100 new members in the bag, I’d say it worked!

    I also bake to procrastinate (the reason I baked earlier today), i.e. not wanting to do an assignment I’ve got due for next Thursday in my Writing the Screen module. I’ve already mapped it out, and it just needs typing up anyway.

    I also bake to win people’s affections, but that one time with this girl never really quite worked out like I wanted it to, but that’s a whoooole other story…

Soooo much nommy nom noms going on here.

Soooo much nommy nom noms going on here.

     But I guess its the main reason that sticks the most. It’s a very gratifying feeling you get when you poke the knife in the middle of the mixture and it comes up dry. With me that rarely happens. And its even more gratifying when you take that first bite and its exactly how you wanted it to be, because I think that’s a huge reason as to why people bake, you create exactly what you want.

Leave a Reply

