The Joys of Being Your Own Chef at Uni.

Here’s a little dish I put together for my main meal of the day…

'A feast fit for a king?' 'Only if he's abdicated.'

‘A feast fit for a king?’
‘Only if he’s abdicated.’

    Its boiled kippers with home-made veggie rice and beetroot salad. I managed to snag the kippers earlier in the shop today at a sweet 64 English pence, while the beetroot salad was also on offer in the bargain bin.

    I’m not a kipper man per say, in fact I’m not sure I’ve ever had the stuff, but whilst I was shopping the only other fish they had were four diddly little pieces of frozen haddock for three whole pounds! So this was an instant step up, and only took twenty minutes to boil.

    The rice is made from brown rice, frozen vegetables (peas, carrots and sweetcorn), and vegetable stock, all boiled together for about an hour. I also used a sprinkling of black peppercorns on both the kippers and the rice, which gave it some extra smokiness.

    I’ve some leftover which I’ll probably have for lunch tomorrow, unless for some reason this lot from tonight comes back up during the night!

    Happy munching everyone!

Leave a Reply

